Find Out Which State, Federal Candidates Support Small Business

Date: February 11, 2022

Early voting in the Texas primary election begins Monday, Feb. 14, and will run until Friday, Feb. 25. Election Day is March 1. Visit for polling places and hours and information on how to vote by mail.

“This is a critical election for Texas’ small business owners and employees,” NFIB State Director Annie Spilman said. “We need to elect leaders who will ensure that small businesses not only remain open but continue to grow and create jobs.”

Here’s a list of candidates endorsed by the NFIB Federal or Texas political action committees.


The NFIB Federal PAC has endorsed 21 incumbents for reelection to the U.S. House of Representatives. All 21 have earned 100% NFIB voting records. “These endorsements are based on a candidate’s positions and record on small business issues, regardless of party affiliation,” Spilman said.

U.S. House
District, Candidate

2 Dan Crenshaw
3 Van Taylor
4 Pat Fallon
5 Lance Gooden
6 Jake Ellzey
10 Michael McCaul
11 August Pfluger
12 Kay Granger
13 Ronny Jackson
14 Randy Weber
17 Pete Sessions
19 Jodey Arrington
21 Chip Roy
22 Troy Nehls
23 Tony Gonzales
24 Beth Van Duyne
25 Roger Williams
26 Michael Burgess
27 Michael Cloud
31 John Carter
36 Brian Babin


Governor: Greg Abbott. NFIB State Director Annie Spilman said the NFIB Texas PAC endorsed Governor Abbott for a third term because he has kept his promise to make Texas the best state for small business. “He helped stabilize the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund and avoid big rate increases for small businesses. He’s made liability and regulatory reform a priority, committed to improving workforce development, and done everything he can to keep businesses open during the pandemic.” Read more about the endorsement here.

Lieutenant governor: Dan Patrick. In announcing the NFIB Texas PAC’s endorsement of Patrick for a second term as lieutenant governor, Spilman said, “His priorities align with those of NFIB, which is shown through his record of standing for free enterprise, limited government, supporting entrepreneurship, and small business.” Click here to learn more.

Texas Legislature: The NFIB Texas PAC also endorsed 34 candidates in four state Senate and 30 House races. Details here.

District, Candidate (incumbent, unless noted)      

8 Angela Paxton  
10 Phil King (current member of the House) 
12 Tan Parker (current member of the House; open seat)
24 Pete Flores (open seat) 

District, Candidate (incumbent, unless noted) 

1 Gary VanDeaver  
4 Keith Bell   
5 Cole Hefner  
6 Matt Schaefer  
11 Travis Clardy  
12 Kyle Kacal  
14 John Raney  
15 Steve Toth  
18 Ernest Bailes  
31 Ryan Guillen  
33 Justin Holland  
53 Andrew Murr  
60 Glenn Rogers  
62 Reggie Smith  
64 Lynn Stucky  
65 Kronda Thimesch (open seat)  
67 Jeff Leach  
68 David Spiller  
71 Stan Lambert  
81 Brooks Landgraf  
83 Dustin Burrows  
85 Phil Stephenson
88 Ken King  
91 Stephanie Klick  
93 Laura Hill (open seat)  
98 Giovanni Capriglione  
122 Adam Blanchard (open seat)   
132 Mike Schofield  
138 Lacey Hull  
150 Valoree Swanson  

Related Content: Small Business News | Texas

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2022 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy