NFIB Names Key State Lawmakers Guardians of Small Business

Date: October 19, 2022

Thirteen State Senators and Assemblymembers Receive Top Honor as Champions For New York’s Small Businesses

NFIB, the state and nation’s leading small-business association, representing nearly 11,000 small and independent businesses across New York State, honored six state senators and seven assemblymembers as 2022 Guardians of Small Business. The 13 recipients, listed below, demonstrated exceptional commitment and support of the small business community, and received a 100-percent ranking in NFIB’s state legislative Voting Record during the 2021-2022 legislative session.

The Guardian of Small Business Award is the most prestigious honor that the National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB) bestows on legislators in recognition of their efforts to support pro-small business policies and their fervent advocacy in Albany on behalf of small and independently owned companies.

“New York’s small businesses are facing unrelenting financial stresses due to inflation, supply chain issues, labor shortages, high energy prices, and unnecessarily excessive state Unemployment Insurance taxes and surcharges, all while navigating a precarious economic environment,” said Ashley Ranslow, NFIB’s NY State Director. “The members of the Senate and Assembly recognized as 2022 “Guardians of Small Business” have displayed an unwavering commitment to not only address the most pressing challenges small businesses are facing, but to thwart efforts to make New York an even more expensive and difficult place to do business in. Main Street is at its breaking point, and small business owners from Long Island to Buffalo need champions in Albany, like those recognized today, that support pro-small business policies.”

NFIB’s New York Voting Record for all members of the New York State Assembly and Senate is available by CLICKING HERE


NYS Guardians of Small Business


New York State Senate

George Borrello – 57th Senate District 

Patrick Gallivan – 59th Senate District

Tom O’Mara – 58th Senate District

Rob Ortt – 62nd Senate District

Ed Rath – 61st Senate District

Sue Serino – 41st Senate District


New York State Assembly

Jake Ashby – 107th Assembly District

Will Barclay – 120th Assembly District

Andy Goodell – 150th Assembly District

Ed Ra – 19th Assembly District

Colin Schmitt – 99th Assembly District

Chris Tague – 102nd Assembly District

Mary Beth Walsh – 112th Assembly District


Related Content: Small Business News | New York

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2022 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy