Four Texas Teens Receive NFIB Young Entrepreneur Award

Date: April 25, 2016 Last Edit: May 03, 2016

The National Federation of Independent Business’ (NFIB) Young Entrepreneur Foundation (YEF) recently announced the recipients of the 14th annual NFIB Young Entrepreneur Awards, a scholarship program designed to reward and encourage entrepreneurial talents among high school students. 
NFIB is proud to award four scholarships to young entrepreneurs in Texas, thanks to NFIB/Texas members Donald F Summers, Eddie Boykin, and W.W. Cannon, Inc.
“We know that small business is the economic backbone of Texas as it comprises 96% of all business in the Lone Star State. These young entrepreneurs will continue the small business legacy that Texas has become well-known for,” said NFIB/Texas Executive Director Will Newton. “The Young Entrepreneur Awards help these students continue their education and grow their small business, and we are proud to be a part of this program that celebrates innovation and hard work.”
The 2016 YEF Award winners from Texas are:
1.Conner Lutz (San Antonio, TX): NFIB/Donald F Summers Young Entrepreneur Award for his business Lutz Lawn Business
2.Weston Hill (Forney, TX): NFIB/Eddie Boykin Young Entrepreneur Award for his business Hillshire Turf
3.Tucker Schuring (Rhome, TX): NFIB/W.W. Cannon, Inc Young Entrepreneur Award for his business Stripe Right
4.Paul Bonilla (McAllen, TX): NFIB/W.W. Cannon, Inc Young Entrepreneur Award for his business Practice Signs
“Year after year, NFIB has the great pleasure of encouraging 100 innovative, bright, and hardworking high school seniors to follow their entrepreneurial dreams,” said Molly Young, Director of the Young Entrepreneur Foundation. “The ambition and creativity that we have seen from these young entrepreneurs is truly inspirational. These students have caught the entrepreneurial bug, and we could not be more confident in our next generation of business owners.”
Ninety-five high school seniors were named Young Entrepreneur Award winners and will receive $2,000 scholarships. Five additional students were named finalists for NFIB’s top two scholarships: the 2016 NFIB Young Entrepreneur of the Year and the 2016 NFIB Dan Danner Leadership Award. These five finalists will be honored at a luncheon in Washington, D.C. on June 23rd where the winners for both awards will be announced. The 2016 NFIB Young Entrepreneur of the Year award recipient will receive a $25,000 scholarship and the 2016 NFIB Dan Danner Leadership Award recipient will receive a $15,000 scholarship. The remaining three finalists will each receive a $10,000 scholarship.  
The Young Entrepreneur Award is a scholarship bestowed on high school seniors that own and operate their own small business. This year to support and encourage young entrepreneurs, Visa donated to the Young Entrepreneur Foundation to increase all of the scholarship amounts.  
To qualify for an NFIB Young Entrepreneur Award, students must be seniors in high school who own and/or operate their own small business. They are required to write an essay describing their entrepreneurial endeavors and future goals. NFIB members around the country interview the applicants for the Young Entrepreneur Awards. 
A full list of this year’s winners, as well as past winners, is available at

Click here for a copy of the press release.

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2022 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy