NFIB Announces Legislative Candidate Endorsements

Date: July 17, 2020

Nine senators, 35 house members win small businesses’ backing for the Primary Election

OLYMPIA, Wash., July 17, 2020—On today’s start date for Primary Election voting, the political action committee for NFIB Washington announced its endorsements of 44 incumbents for the Washington State Legislature.

The endorsements were made by NFIB Washington PAC, the political arm of NFIB Washington. The endorsements were based on each House incumbent’s voting record during the 2019-2020 legislative session. Senators were evaluated based on their full four-year term, including both the 2017-18 and 2019-20 voting records. Endorsements for candidates running in open seats or challenging an incumbent will be made after the August 4 Primary Election. Those endorsements will be made based on candidate questionnaires and interviews.

“The candidates our PAC has endorsed have a measurable and proven record they can point to when making the claim to be pro-small-business,” said Patrick Connor, Washington state director for NFIB. “Thirteen of our endorsed candidates are current or former NFIB members.” [Denoted by asterisk]

District          Position                     Name

2                House, Pos. 1              Rep. Andrew Barkis*

2                House, Pos. 2              Rep. JT Wilcox*

4                House, Pos. 1              Rep. Bob McCaslin

4                Senate                          Sen. Mike Padden

6                House, Pos. 1              Rep. Mike Volz

6                House, Pos. 2              Rep. Jenny Graham

7                House, Pos. 1              Rep. Jacquelin Maycumber

7                House, Pos. 2              Rep. Joel Kretz

8                House, Pos. 1              Rep. Brad Klippert

8                House, Pos. 2              Rep. Matt Boehnke

9                House, Pos. 1              Rep. Mary Dye

9                House, Pos. 2              Rep. Joe Schmick*

9                Senate                          Sen. Mark G. Schoesler*

12              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Keith Goehner*

12              House, Pos. 2              Rep. Mike Steele

12              Senate                          Sen. Brad Hawkins*

13              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Tom Dent*

13              House, Pos. 2              Rep. Alex Ybarra

14              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Chris Corry

14              House, Pos. 2              Rep. Gina Mosbrucker

14              Senate                          Sen. Curtis P. King*

15              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Bruce Chandler

15              House, Pos. 2              Rep. Jeremie Dufault

16              House, Pos. 2              Rep. Skyler Rude

17              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Vicki Kraft

17              House, Pos. 2              Rep. Paul Harris*

17              Senate                          Sen. Lynda Wilson*

18              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Brandon Vick

18              House, Pos. 2              Rep. Larry Hoff

18              Senate                          Sen. Ann Rivers

19              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Jim Walsh

20              House, Pos. 2              Rep. Ed Orcutt

20              Senate                          Sen. John Braun*

25              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Kelly Chambers*

26              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Jesse L. Young

26              House, Pos. 2              Rep. Michelle Caldier

28              Senate                          Sen. Steve O’Ban

31              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Drew Stokesbary

35              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Dan Griffey

35              House, Pos. 2              Rep. Drew C. MacEwen*

39              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Robert J. Sutherland

39              House, Pos. 2              Rep. Carolyn Eslick

39              Senate                          Sen. Keith L. Wagoner

42              House, Pos. 1              Rep. Luanne Van Werven

Related Story

July 15—44 Washington Legislators Named Guardians of Small Business

Keep up with the latest Washington state small-business news at or by following NFIB on Twitter @NFIB_WA or on Facebook @NFIB.WA

Contact: Patrick Connor, Washington State Director, 360-789-3355,
or Tony Malandra, Senior Media Manager, 415-640-5156,


For more than 77 years, NFIB has been advocating on behalf of America’s small and independent business owners, both in Washington, D.C., and in all 50 state capitals. NFIB is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, and member-driven association. Since its founding in 1943, NFIB has been exclusively dedicated to small and independent businesses and remains so today. For more information, please visit

NFIB Washington
711 Capitol Way South
Suite 505
Olympia, WA 98501
Twitter: @NFIB_WA


Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today

© 2001 - 2022 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy