Update: Is Paid Sick Leave Coming to New Jersey?

Date: August 04, 2015

On Monday, June 22, the Senate Labor Committee advanced a bill, S-785, that would institute paid leave statewide. The bill would mandate that workers accumulate an hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked. Companies with 10 or fewer workers would have to allow workers to earn at least 40 hours of sick leave, and companies with more than 10 workers would have to offer at least 72 hours.

For small business owners, who are dealing with a specific amount of income, paying for unfunded mandates means eliminating flexibility and cutting elsewhere, including offering fewer raises, restricting hours, reducing overtime and possibly cutting vacation time.

S-785 was scheduled for a vote in the Senate at the end of June, but it was pulled at the last minute.

“Apparently the caucus realized they did not have the votes,” says Laurie Ehlbeck, NFIB’s New Jersey state director. “There is some dispute among the legislators about having a pre-emption clause in the bill.”

Until the legislature returns in the fall, statewide mandated paid sick leave is still in limbo. For the proposal to move forward, both the Assembly and Senate will have to pass identical legislation before it’s sent to Gov. Chris Christie, who NJ.com reports is widely expected to veto it.

Related Content: Small Business News | Economy | New Jersey

Subscribe For Free News And Tips

Enter your email to get FREE small business insights. Learn more

Get to know NFIB

NFIB is a member-driven organization advocating on behalf of small and independent businesses nationwide.

Learn More

Or call us today
1-800-634-2669

© 2001 - 2022 National Federation of Independent Business. All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions | Privacy